Skip to content ↓
  • slideshow image
  • Assessment

    Assessment Ladders at KS3

    In this section of the website, you have access to the Assessment Ladders  for each subject at KS3:

    Art, Citizenship, Computing, Drama, English, Food Technology, Geography, Graphics, History, Mathematics, MFL, Music, PE, RE, Science Textiles.

    Each Assessment Ladder has a description of the skills, knowledge and understanding expected at each point on the Assessment Ladder. 

    All the Assessment Ladders are based on the new National Curriculum for KS3 and have taken into consideration the progression to the new GCSEs currently being implemented in Years 10-11 with the grading system 9-1 replacing A*-G.

    We have a cycle of review and revision, therefore all Assessment Ladders may be subject to modification as we go into the new academic year.

    Here at St Bernard’s High School we expect students to make 3-4 points of progress between entry at Year 7 and GCSE at Year 11.

    "Settling in at St Bernard’s has been amazing, it has been a wonderful experience".

    — Biba & Gabriella, Year 7